Statistics

196,780 members
67,417 posts
  • New
    2020-11-16

What can you do with the 16 XLR outputs on the S32?

On some level, this is a dumb question, but I ask because I read this on an ad for the S32 ... "A single Cat 5 cable from front of house to the stage can handle up to 48 channels of audio and deliver all bus outputs, along with 16 separate monitor feeds for Behringer's optional P16-M Personal Monitoring System."

I am a newbie to X32 and neck-deep in training to learn it, but I was a little baffled by the way that the S32 was marketed in this way since you would use Ultranet to connect the P16 instead of XLR, which the P16 has none of. Moreover, you can daisy chain with Ultranet and have 48 P16's if you wanted.

Anyway, it didn't make any sense, and then I thought, "hmmm ... then what would I do with those XLR outputs on the S32?" Given my newbie status in all this, I realized that I have no idea and someone here likely can "take me to school".

read more...
    0 2
    • Clark Vangilder
      Rex Beckett Hi Clark, the ad wording may be a little confusing. I think what it was trying to explain is that a single Cat5 cable can handle 48 bidirectional signals. With the S32 this allows all 32 XLR inputs plus sixteen XLR outputs plus sixteen monitor mixes via Ultranet/P16 along with ADAT, AES3 and Midi. You may not need all the different outputs for one gig but they're available when required.

The XLR outputs would usually be used to feed monitor wedges, wired/wireless IEM and main PA channels at the stage level.
      • Nov 16
      • S32 XLR outputs are for what?!
        Clark Vangilder So each of those 16 XLR outs are "all of the above", or whatever I tell them to be from the FOH X32, which appears to be able to do just about anything that you want. It is insane what these toys are capable of.
        • Nov 16
      • S32 XLR outputs are for what?!