Statistics

250,910 members
128,129 posts
  • blazingfirefly
    Newcomer - Level 1
    2020-10-21

Hi There

I am fairly new to the entire topic. I bought two Behringer A800 Amplifier with the idea in mind to power my two passive speakers. One I thought to use for the left and another one for the right speaker. My Question now is: How can I set up the A800 in bridged mono mode? Do I simply use Output A, leave Output B empty and use input A for either right or left? I am aware of the bridge mono switch. 

I am also a bit stuck on the cables as I read that I have to switch one end of the speakon cable from 1+ to 2+ and 1- to 2-. Sadly I can find nothing on this in the instructions manual.

I am thankful for any input that might help.

Cheers!

read more...
    0 685
    • blazingfirefly
      DavidKnighton Hi James Smith,
      If you focus on the rear of the amp, it is actually very clear how to connect the bridge outputs. Simply take the positive terminal of channel A and channel B, flip the unit into bridge mode, power cycle the unit, and plug your input into channel A. It also tells you that channel A positive is bridge positive, and channel B positive is Bridge negative. If you intend to use the speakon outputs, the silkscreen says to use channel B pins 1+/1-. If you're not sure what this means; almost every speakon has 4 terminals inside. A single amp channel only needs two, pin 1+/1- and pin 2+/2-. You'll need to ensure your NL4 speakon cable is properly wired for bridge operation on this amp by removing the connector sleeve and inpspecting the lead wires. Most speakons will be wired 1+/1- if they are 2 conductor cable.
      • October 21, 2020
    • blazingfirefly