Contributor - Level 2

XR18 to IQ15

What is the best way to hook up XR18 to IQ15 speakers? Currently using XLR to each speaker, with input on speakers set to Mic. What I don't understand is that when the input switch on the IQ15s are set to Line, I get almost nothing out of the speakers. I guess I don't understand the difference between Mic and Line for signal input on these speakers.  I may go ahead and get some Cat 5 cables and give that a try but fear it may be over my head. Just so you know, I'm new to running any kind of legit PA system and I have no clue what the hell I'm doing. I'm a master at HVAC but a hobbyist drummer that recently was given lead vocal duties in our little cover band, so I got a kick ass PA. I just need a little guidance.

Daverhoid Contributor - Level 2 2019-07-06

2019-07-06

XR18 to IQ15

What is the best way to hook up XR18 to IQ15 speakers? Currently using XLR to each speaker, with input on speakers set to Mic. What I don't understand is that when the input switch on the IQ15s are set to Line, I get almost nothing out of the speakers. I guess I don't understand the difference between Mic and Line for signal input on these speakers.  I may go ahead and get some Cat 5 cables and give that a try but fear it may be over my head. Just so you know, I'm new to running any kind of legit PA system and I have no clue what the hell I'm doing. I'm a master at HVAC but a hobbyist drummer that recently was given lead vocal duties in our little cover band, so I got a kick ass PA. I just need a little guidance.

• 0 Kudos
  • 5 Replies
Volunteer Moderator

Re: XR18 to IQ15

Hi David @Daverhoid,

Welcome to the forum. Connecting the XR18 to iQ speakers, you want the input on line, not mic since the XR18 outputs line level. If it isn't loud enough it means that the iQ input gains are set too low. Increase them to around 0db to start with, then adjust accordingly.