Contributor - Level 2

XR18 Phones Volume Low

I am very new to XR18 and have a question.  We tried using the Phones jack at a practice and thought we were getting no output.  On further experimentation on my own I discovered that there was output, but the volume was so low that it was drowned out by the ambient noise.  The volume coming through the main speakers is great, but even with the phones level turned up to max the volume on the headphones is not really useable.  Is there something I can do to increase the volume in the app, or do I just have a **bleep**ty pair of headphones?

bspiglejr Contributor - Level 2 2019-11-30

2019-11-30

XR18 Phones Volume Low

I am very new to XR18 and have a question.  We tried using the Phones jack at a practice and thought we were getting no output.  On further experimentation on my own I discovered that there was output, but the volume was so low that it was drowned out by the ambient noise.  The volume coming through the main speakers is great, but even with the phones level turned up to max the volume on the headphones is not really useable.  Is there something I can do to increase the volume in the app, or do I just have a **bleep**ty pair of headphones?

• 0 Kudos
  • 6 Replies

Accepted Solutions
Rising Star - Level 2

Re: XR18 Phones Volume Low

Hi @bspiglejr 

Check Setup:Monitor 

Check Monitor level and make sure the Dim button is not pressed. You could also try Monitor Source: and set it to LR PFL.

Edit: Fixed "Dim button is pressed"

View solution in original post

Contributor - Level 2

Steps to fix this problem (for me at least).

1. Choose menu option that looks like an up arrow and down arrow and then choose OUPUT.

2. Under Phones change the source from Main LR to Monitor.  Note that after this change the Main LR slider will no longer affect the Phones volume.

3. Return to main screen and then go to Settings/Monitor

4. Press S/E to see all settings

5. Make sure Dim Button is not pressed.