Highlighted
Contributor - Level 2

Mic not working with UMC202HD interface

Hi,

I'm new to all of this and just looking for a setup to record some vocals. I'm usin a ZingYou BM-800 condenser mic with a Behringer UMC202HD interface. It's plugged straight into my USB3.0 port (Lenovo ThinkPad, if that makes any difference). The driver is installed, and my laptop recognises the device. I just can't get the mic to work at all - the signal light on the UMC202HD is never on. Any ideas on what to do? Both the power and phantom power lights are on.

Manji Contributor - Level 2 2019-10-16

2019-10-16

Mic not working with UMC202HD interface

Hi,

I'm new to all of this and just looking for a setup to record some vocals. I'm usin a ZingYou BM-800 condenser mic with a Behringer UMC202HD interface. It's plugged straight into my USB3.0 port (Lenovo ThinkPad, if that makes any difference). The driver is installed, and my laptop recognises the device. I just can't get the mic to work at all - the signal light on the UMC202HD is never on. Any ideas on what to do? Both the power and phantom power lights are on.

• 0 Kudos
  • 9 Replies
Contributor - Level 3

Re: Mic not working with UMC202HD interface

I just got the UMC and it is not with me. The mic is phantom powered. Do you have the switch for phantom on?

"Sometimes it's the people who no one imagines anything of, who do the things that no one can imagine"
Highlighted
Contributor - Level 3

Oops missed that. Did you try another cable?

"Sometimes it's the people who no one imagines anything of, who do the things that no one can imagine"
Highlighted
Rock Star - Level 2

HI Ali ( @Manji ), 

Welcome to the commmunity.  Are you trying to use the cable that came with the mic or are you using a standard XLR female-male cable?  The cable that comes with the mic is designed to get parasitic power from a sound card.  Phantom power is only available on the XLR pins of the 202HD.  

Hope this helps, 

Ken