Recording

If your passion lies in recording then this is the page for you! Together with other recording engineers, you can share experiences, tips, gear recommendations and more.

Highlighted

The XENIX Q502USB Mixer and the iRig microphone

Contributor - Level 2

Hi all:

I'm a newbie in this Forum and, by mistake, I posted the question below in the Mixer section Smiley Sad. My apologies! But here I go…Smiley Very Happy

I own a Q502USB mixer. Recently, a friend of mine, knowing that I have an iPhone X, offered me an iRig microphone designed by IK Multimedia. The

[COLOR=#333333][LEFT][COLOR=#333333][FONT=&] iRig microphone connects directly to the iPhone via a Lightning to 3.5 mm Headphone Jack Adapter (an Apple accessory). I use the HandyRec app by Zoom to record pieces I play in a classic guitar [/FONT][/COLOR][/LEFT]
[/COLOR][COLOR=#333333][LEFT][COLOR=#333333][FONT=&]and everything works fine.[/FONT][/COLOR][/LEFT]
[/COLOR]
[LEFT][COLOR=#3e3e3e][FONT=&][COLOR=#333333][FONT=&]
T
[/FONT][/COLOR][COLOR=#333333][FONT=&]he XLR input of the Q502 is already in use by another microphone[/FONT][/COLOR][COLOR=#333333][FONT=&] and I would like to connect the iRig microphone to one of the mono line inputs the Q503USB mixer as well, so as to record in stereo mode with two microphones.

The iRig mic ends up in a male/female connector as shown in the attached image. The male jack is a 3.5 mm TRRS plug which follows the CTIA standard (left channel (+), right channel (+), earth, microphone). The female in the plug is for monitoring using a standard Apple earphones, which also has a TRRS plug at the end of its cord.

To connect this microphone to one of the mono line inputs of the Q502 I need a cable with a female TRRS socket (or a male plug) that connects its 3rd ring (earth) to the sleeve of a 6.3 mm TS plug, and its 4th ring (microphone) to the tip of the 6.3 mm TS plug (microphone).
[/FONT][/COLOR][COLOR=#333333][FONT=&]