Contributor - Level 2

UMC204HD Vinyl Recording

Turntable: Sansui SR-212 (1974)

built-in rca > receiver input
Receiver: Toshiba SA-320 (1977)

rca male > 6.35mm input to insert 1 and 2 on interface rear
Audio Interface: Behringer U-Phoric UMC204HD

Recorded in Audacity 2.3.3 on Windows 10

Drivers are installed and microphone drop down in Audacity lists the input 1 and 2 (and also lists out 1-2 and out 3-4). Unless I've foolishly overlooked a basic setting, everything should be set.

UMC control panel doesn't help at all in guessing what may be wrong. I know the insert 1 and 2 inputs work, I tested on a previous cable that was male rca>male rca and split to 3.5mm and adapted to a single 6.35mm where I got left or right when testing a rip.

Please help me out, I'm new to interfaces.

BigRMusic Contributor - Level 2 2019-11-30

2019-11-30

UMC204HD Vinyl Recording

Turntable: Sansui SR-212 (1974)

built-in rca > receiver input
Receiver: Toshiba SA-320 (1977)

rca male > 6.35mm input to insert 1 and 2 on interface rear
Audio Interface: Behringer U-Phoric UMC204HD

Recorded in Audacity 2.3.3 on Windows 10

Drivers are installed and microphone drop down in Audacity lists the input 1 and 2 (and also lists out 1-2 and out 3-4). Unless I've foolishly overlooked a basic setting, everything should be set.

UMC control panel doesn't help at all in guessing what may be wrong. I know the insert 1 and 2 inputs work, I tested on a previous cable that was male rca>male rca and split to 3.5mm and adapted to a single 6.35mm where I got left or right when testing a rip.

Please help me out, I'm new to interfaces.

• 0 Kudos
  • 8 Replies
Rising Star - Level 2

Re: UMC204HD Vinyl Recording

Hi @BigRMusic 

Are you taking the the receiver's output from the "Tape out"? And are your getting signal there?

That's how I would do it, although I have also take the signal directly from the turntable and applied the RIAA eq curve (Yeah, it technically not correct 😁).

Contributor - Level 2