Contributor - Level 1

XR18 - using Logic Effects for live performance?

I'm a recent convert to the XR18 for my five-piece cover band. We're using it for rehearsal but haven't used it live yet. So far, I am loving this amazing piece of kit. 

Apologies if this is a stupid question.

But can I use Logic Pro X effects during live performances by routing the individual tracks through Logic and back to the XR18?

I'm happy to use the XR18 effects like Compressor, EQ etc (although I'm no expert!!) on individual tracks. However, I would like to put some more sound-changing effects on our electric piano - which I have done when post-mixing live multi-track performances already.

Can I do that live? As an example, here is a link to a live performance of Mr Brightside, remixed afterwards in Logic - the intro is the piano made to sound like a guitar (because we have only one guitarist and he's playing rhythm). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jujRNKmMng0

I don't think it's possible to change the sound so significantly with the Behringer guitar amp effect (I haven't been able to anyway). Hence the desire to route the sound through Logic and back. 

Any help would be much appreciated. 

MikeNorton Contributor - Level 1 2019-05-01

2019-05-01

XR18 - using Logic Effects for live performance?

I'm a recent convert to the XR18 for my five-piece cover band. We're using it for rehearsal but haven't used it live yet. So far, I am loving this amazing piece of kit. 

Apologies if this is a stupid question.

But can I use Logic Pro X effects during live performances by routing the individual tracks through Logic and back to the XR18?

I'm happy to use the XR18 effects like Compressor, EQ etc (although I'm no expert!!) on individual tracks. However, I would like to put some more sound-changing effects on our electric piano - which I have done when post-mixing live multi-track performances already.