Highlighted
Contributor - Level 2

X32 Routing to Two SD-8's

Hi - I'm a newbie at this and have some pretty basic questions. I have included a diagram to show what I want to achieve. My setup will be two SD8's - one on the left side of the building and one on the right side of the  building. They will be connected to AES-50 A & B at the X32 digital mixer. The left one (A) will feed the left house speaker and two floor monitors and the right one (B) will feed the right house speaker and two floor monitors. I will only be using input channels 1 through 16 on the mixer; 1-8 being fed from SD-8(A), and 9- 16 fed from SD-8 (B).

So...do I setup the inputs as AES50 A1-8 for the left SD8 (A), and AES50 B9-16 for the right SD8 (B)? With  this setup (if it's even correct) could I use only channel 16 as a local input for a wireless mic receiver, or, is that now only dedicated to AES50 B?

My main question:
How do I set up the outputs for the SD8s (A&B) to feed my monitors and house speakers from each SD8, according to how the diagram shows it? The diagram is only an example. I may have more, or less inputs and more or less outputs (aux's), but I need to know specifically how to set up my main L/R - one on the AES - A and one on the AES - B.

Thanks,
Rick

RickBennevendo Contributor - Level 2 2020-02-12

2020-02-12

X32 Routing to Two SD-8's

Hi - I'm a newbie at this and have some pretty basic questions. I have included a diagram to show what I want to achieve. My setup will be two SD8's - one on the left side of the building and one on the right side of the  building. They will be connected to AES-50 A & B at the X32 digital mixer. The left one (A) will feed the left house speaker and two floor monitors and the right one (B) will feed the right house speaker and two floor monitors. I will only be using input channels 1 through 16 on the mixer; 1-8 being fed from SD-8(A), and 9- 16 fed from SD-8 (B).